A Forrest Gump Run

So today I did what I thought of as a Forrest Gump run. I started out with an idea of where I was going to go, but I just kept on until I felt like stopping. A friend had told me that the 59th street bridge and subsequent run up 2nd avenue were hard when she ran the course a few years ago, so that’s the route I took. She wasn’t lying, but I got up to Harlem okay (though going from the Upper East Side to Harlem is very, very strange. You pass a number of cutesy/shi-shi boutiques, the kind of places where a haircut can run a $1,000, then, all of a sudden, you’re in east Harlem, which is not the kind of place where a haircut costs a grand). And decided to run as far as I could back. A few notes:

  • The bridge was rough after the three miles it took to run to the ramp. I can’t imagine getting there after 13 miles.
  • The hills in Central park are no joke.
  • I feel better running on a slight incline than I do running downhill. This may be because I’m more wary of the impact on my heels when going down.
  • I had to stop around 33rd Place in Long Island City on my way back. Not being as committed as Forrest (“When I got tired, I slept…”) I had to get back home. I pulled a Rosie Ruiz and got on a bus.
  • The whole shbang totaled about 14mi+ (I say plus because I zig-zagged through central park and don’t know what the total would have been)

PSST! If you haven’t donated to the charity for which I’m raising funds, here’s another chance!

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

