Kelly Clancy’s Soldiers of God

Soldiers of GodSoldiers of God by Kelly Clancy
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was very pleasantly surprised by this book. For one, I am not usually one to go in for graphic novels, and two, I usually have more to say about any given book–this one left me speechless. It is a warmly drawn, sympathetic, imaginative book about what it is to be a human in America and Turkmenistan right now, and that is boatloads better than I can say for most of the books I read. It was one of the best books I read all year.

Full disclosure: Ms. Clancy and I went to primary school together; at the time I was more aware of her preternatural grasp of the hard sciences and math than I was aware of her storytelling ability. I do have some foggy memories of her incipient artistic talent, but I had no idea of the direction or extent they’d exhibit (their vector displacement, so to speak).

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Literature, Quality Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

